The country of Senegal is bordered by the Gambia, Guinea-Bissau and Guinea to the south, Mauritania to the north, Mali to the east, and the Atlantic Ocean to the west. Senegal gained independence from France in 1960.

Dakar is the capital city of Senegal and other major towns and cities include Touba, Thies, Kaolack, Ziguinchor, Mbour, Rufisque, Saint-Louis, Diourbel, Louga, Richard Toll, Tambacounda, Kolda, Mbacke and Fatick

The Senegal economy is based on agriculture; along with tourism, and trade in textiles and African art and craft. Cattle, sheep, goats, pigs, and other livestock, fish and shrimps millet, beans, sweet potatoes, and cassava, are farmed in Senegal for sale in the domestic market and for export to countries abroad.

Senegal’s main mineral and resource deposits include: crude oil, aluminium and calcium phosphate, and titanium ore.

Major industries in Senegal include: aluminium, phosphate, textiles, cement, cigarettes, drinks, leather, fish, peanut, and sugar refining, plants; along with oil exploration and ship repair.

The climate of Senegal is tropical, with an average temperature of 860F or 300C. It occupies a total landmass of about 196,723 square kilometres.

Senegal contains: low plains, hills, plateaux, volcanic rocks, mountains rising to over 500 metres at the peak, mangrove swamps, rivers, savannah grassland, acacia, and forests. The forests and rivers of Senegal contain: hyenas, panthers, lions, antelopes, crocodiles, turtles, and hippopotamuses.

Rotary Clubs In Senegal
Tagged on:                                                             

Leave a Reply