Abidjan is the capital city of Cote d’Ivoire, whilst Yamoussoukro is the administrative headquarters. Other major towns and cities in Cote d’Ivoire include Bouake, Daloa, San-Pedro, Divo, Korhogo, Anyama, Abengourou, Man, Gagnoa, Soubre, Agboville, Dabou and Bouafle

The Ivory Coast economy is agriculture based. Cocoa, copra, pineapples, rubber, palm oil and kernel, coffee, wood, cotton, and various fruits are farmed in the Ivory Coast for sale in the domestic market and for export to countries abroad.

Ivory Coast mineral and resource deposits include: uranium, manganese, nickel, copper, gold, diamond, and crude oil. The main industries in Ivory Coast are: cocoa and chocolate, and petroleum plants. The principal export of Ivory Coast is cocoa beans.

As a colony of France, and at independence in 1960, it was called Ivory Coast. The change to the French version, Cote d’Ivoire was made much later. Both names derive from the abundant ivory trade in the country.

Cote d’Ivoire occupies a total landmass of about 322,464 square kilometres. Ivory Coast is bordered by Ghana to the east, Liberia and Guinea Conakry to the west, and Mali and Burkina Faso to the north.

The Ivory Coast climate is tropical, with an average temperature of about 820F or 280C.

Cote d’Ivoire contains: a plateau in the main, a large, immensely dense and rich tropical rain forest, lagoons, savannah grassland, dams, rivers, and sandy terrain culminating in coastal mangrove swamps.

Plants and trees in the Ivory Coast include halophytes, coconuts, mangroves, mahogany, ebony, palm trees, and iroko; the forests also contain a vast variety of wildlife.

Rotary Clubs In Cote d’Ivoire
Tagged on:                                                                 

Leave a Reply