Portuguese Guinea was renamed Guinea-Bissau at independence in 1974.

The capital city of Guinea-Bissau is Bissau and other major towns and cities include Bissora, Quinhamel, Bolama, Mansoa, Fulacunda, Canchungo, Bubaque, Buba, Catio, Cacheu, Farim, Goudomp, Senegal Quebo, Sedhiou and Senegal Bafata

The Guinea Bissau economy is agriculture based. Cassava, sugarcane, plantain, various fruits, sweet potatoes, coconuts, rice, cattle, goats, sheep, pigs, copra, palm oil and kernel, and peanuts are farmed in Guinea Bissau for sale in the domestic market and for export to countries abroad.

More than 30% of Guinea Bissau is occupied by dense tropical rain forest.The main industries of Guinea Bissau include: copra, fish, food, palm oil and kernel, peanut and peanut oil processing plants. Other industries in Guinea-Bissau include: soft drinks, rum, beer, motor assembly, and textile and cloth plants. Guinea Bissau principal exports are fish and peanuts.

Guinea Bissau occupies a landmass of about 36,125 square kilometres, which is bordered to the west by the Atlantic Ocean and to the north by Senegal.

Guinea-Bissau contains a mixed terrain: highlands, lowlands, plains, and savannah grasslands. Guinea Bissau climate is tropical, with an average temperature of 820F or 280C

Rotary Clubs In Guinea Bissau
Tagged on:                                                                 

Leave a Reply